Skip to navigation Skip to content

Inaugural Candidate Assessment Panel process completed


The CBH Group today advises that the inaugural Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process has been completed for the 2022 CBH Group Member Director Elections, with seven candidates proceeding to seek election or re-election.  

Three Director positions are open for nomination, one in each of Districts 2, 3 and 4.  

The CAP process is one of several initiatives implemented following the 2020 Governance Review that enables CBH to pursue the highest standards of governance. 

The CAP process candidates seeking election or re-election are:  

District 2  

  • Jeff Seaby (incumbent) - Mukinbudin 
  • Chris Antonio – Northam  

District 3  

  • Kevin Fuchsbichler (incumbent) - Bruce Rock 
  • Barry West - Kulin 
  • Dee Ridgway - Beverley 
  • Tamara Alexander - Narrogin 

District 4  

  • Helen Woodhams (incumbent) - Kojonup  

The CAP is a three-person, majority independent panel, comprising the CBH Chair and two panel members external to CBH. The inaugural panel included respected, independent members in the field of governance, Terry Agnew and Suzanne Ardagh, and CBH Board representative, Simon Stead.   

While all Member Director Election candidates are strongly encouraged to participate in the CAP process, it is only mandatory for incumbent Directors.  

Mr Stead said the CAP process assesses a candidate’s experience, skills and attributes relevant to the role of a CBH Director against the desired skills and attributes sought by the CBH Board.  

“This process has been designed to encourage a high calibre of candidates to stand for election and promote merit-based voting by providing members with factual information about the candidates for their consideration when deciding which candidate to vote for,” Mr Stead said.  

“The CAP will prepare a separate CAP assessment report for each District that will include a rating and assessment comments for each CAP candidate in that District.  The relevant report for each District will be provided in the voting materials that will be posted to members in early January 2022.” 

Director nominations open for non-CAP participants  

Nominations have today opened for candidates for the 2022 Member Director Elections who wish to nominate outside of the CAP process.  

Eligible candidates have until 12.00 noon on 4 January 2022 to lodge their nomination. 

The upcoming elections will be conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC).  

CBH Grower Members with an interest in standing for election outside of the CAP process as a Director in Districts 2, 3 or 4 should apply for an information pack and nomination form from WAEC Returning Officer for the 2022 elections, Katherine Williams, by phone on 9214 0426 or email at  

Candidates are not required to have their main growing interests in the district in which they intend to nominate for election. 

Following the close of nominations for non-CAP candidates on 4 January 2022, and subject to receiving more than one nomination for a district, Grower Members in that district will be able to vote for the candidate of their choice and those votes will be counted immediately after the close of poll at 10.00am on Monday,14 February 2022. 

Further information about the Member Director Elections and CAP process can be found on our website,