Skip to navigation Skip to content

Two new councillors appointed to Growers Advisory Council


The CBH Group is pleased to announce the appointment of two new growers to our Growers’ Advisory Council (GAC). Lyndon Mickel from Beaumont and Laurie Butler from Perenjori have been appointed councillors, commencing their terms on 1 July 2021 for a four-year period.

Made up of 16 Western Australian grain growers, the GAC provides a formal channel to facilitate feedback and communication between the co-operative’s grower members and the CBH Board and management team.

Due to the expiry of the term of a sitting Councillor, and the replacement of another Councillor who resigned mid-term due to successfully being elected to the CBH Board in 2020, two positions were open to new members. Mr Mickel fills the District 5 vacancy, and Mr Butler (from District 1) fills the position available to growers from any district, as the minimum number of councillors for all Districts had been met. CBH Chair Simon Stead congratulated Mr Mickel and Mr Butler on their successful appointment and welcomed their role in sharing knowledge from their Zone.

“The GAC provides input and advice on important issues impacting growers, the co-operative and the broader grain industry – and this input is critical to the long-term success of our co-operative,” Mr Stead said. “It is an opportunity for CBH grower members to provide feedback on important grower issues, while enhancing their own professional development through education and training opportunities,” he said. The next GAC meeting will be held Thursday 5 August 2021.

Mr Stead also recognised outgoing former GAC Chair Neville McDonald for his time on the GAC and for his dedication and contribution to the co-operative. For more information, please visit