Skip to navigation Skip to content

CBH Group appoints David Lock as Independent Director


The CBH Group has appointed David Lock as an Independent Director of the CBH Board, replacing David Willis who is retiring from the Board after nine years in the role.

CBH Chairman Wally Newman said Mr Lock would further broaden the skills and experience of the CBH Board, bringing a deep understanding of the Australian agribusiness industry having held director and senior executive level roles across the food, agribusiness and manufacturing sectors.

Mr Lock is currently Chairman of the ASX-listed integrated agribusiness Mareterram Ltd as well as Australian Pork Limited and the Western Australia Meat Industry Authority, and is the Deputy Chairman of the Water Corporation.

He is also a non-executive director of Odeum Produce Pty Ltd and Food, Fibre, Land International Pty Ltd, and a member of the Curtin Business School Advisory Council.

Prior to joining Mareterram, Mr Lock was Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Craig Mostyn Group for 12 years.

In 2012, he was named NAB Agribusiness Leader of the Year and in 2013 he won the Australian Export Heroes Award.

“Mr Lock brings a wealth of experience, and financial and risk management to the Board, and his proven record in agribusiness will add great value to our co-operative and the Western Australian grain industry,” Mr Newman said.

CBH has nine member-elected Grower Directors and three Independent Directors. Mr Lock will be appointed Independent Director for a three-year term commencing at the conclusion of the next CBH Annual General Meeting (AGM) to be held on 22 February 2019, with his position to be ratified by members at the 2020 AGM.

Mr Willis was appointed as an Independent Director of the CBH Board in March 2010. He is currently Chairman of the Audit and Risk Management Committee and a CBH Board appointed Director of Interflour Group Pte Ltd. He will step down from all three roles at the end of the 2019 AGM.

“CBH greatly values the experience of our Independent Directors whose abilities supplement those of our Grower Directors,” Mr Newman said.

“David’s contribution to the co-operative over the past nine years has been significant, and on behalf of the Board, I thank him for his tremendous service and wish him every success in his future endeavours.”