Skip to navigation Skip to content

CBH Group announces Director Election results


17 February 2020


Following closure of the polls today in the 2020 CBH Group Member Director Elections, the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) has counted the votes and advised of the successful candidates in Districts 1, 2 and 4.

In District 1, Ken Seymour from Miling was elected as a Member Director. Mr Seymour ran against Kirrilee Warr from Yuna and Gareth Rowe from Walkaway.

In District 2, John O’Neil from Mukinbudin was elected as a Member Director. Mr O’Neil ran against Vern Dempster from Northam.

In District 4, Wally Newman from Newdegate was re-elected as a Member Director. Mr Newman ran against Shane Carruthers from Lake Grace.

CBH Chairman Wally Newman thanked all candidates who participated in the process as well as grower members for casting their votes in the election. 

“As a grower-owned co-operative, members have the right to determine their Member Director representatives on their Board and it is important that members exercise this right,” Mr Newman said. 

“I would like to thank everyone who put up their hand up to contribute to their co-operative as a Member Director. I would like to acknowledge all candidates on their campaigns and I extend my congratulations to those who have been elected.

“I am also humbled to have been re-elected to the Board and I look forward to continue representing all WA growers.”

“We would like to welcome to the Board Ken Seymour from District 1 and John O’Neil from District 2, who will each bring a great deal of knowledge and capability to our team. We look forward to working with each of you.

“I would like to recognise Vern Dempster for his service to the Board over the past 12 years.

“Mr Dempster has made a strong contribution to the co-operative over this time and has been an enduring advocate for improving CBH’s service to growers.”

The formal appointment of Directors will take place at this year’s CBH Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The AGM will be held on Thursday, 20 February 2020 at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre, and is open to all registered CBH members.